Finally, US fans can watch the World Hockey Championships

During the opening days of the World Hockey Championships over in Switzerland, I tried to contact the IIHF on a number of occasions to get information as to how hockey fans in the US might be able to watch the action. Unfortunately, the IIHF never got back to me, but I have received a schedule and information today from Universal Sports, "a channel and website partnered with NBC that highlights Olympic Sports all year long."

The good news for American hockey fans is that Universal Sports will provide streaming video for the remainder of the tournament, according to the following schedule below. Nashville Predators fans in particular will want to catch Semifinal #1 tomorrow, which pits Ryan Suter, Colin Wilson, and Team USA against Alexander Radulov and Team Russia. Kevin Allen at USA Today chimes in with what Team USA needs to do to beat the Russians.

If Canada (with Dan Hamhuis and Shea Weber on defense) can get past Latvia in today's Quarter Final, they'll play in Semifinal #2. For a look at how all the Predators players are performing the World Championships, head over to the team's website.

INTERNET (www.universalsports.com/icehockey)

May 7th

Quarter Final #4 (2:00-5:00 PM ET/ 11:00AM- 2:00PM PT)- LIVE

May 8th

Semifinal #1 (10:15 AM-1:15 PM ET/ 7:15- 10:15AM ET)- LIVE- USA vs. Russia

Semifinal #2 (2:15 - 5:15PM ET/ 11:15AM- 2:15PM PT)- LIVE- Canada vs. winner of quarter final #4

May 10th

Bronze Medal (10:00AM-1:00 PM ET/ 7:00-10:00AM PT)- LIVE

Gold Medal (2:30-5:30 PM ET/ 11:30AM- 2:30PM PT)- LIVE

 

TELEVISION (Check your local listings for Universal Sports availability)

May 7th

Quarter Final #4 (2:00-5:00 PM ET)- LIVE

Quarter Final #3 (6:00-8:30 PM ET)- Same Day Delay

May 8th

Semifinal #1 (6:00-8:30 PM ET)- Same Day Delay

Semifinal #2 (9:00-11:30 PM ET)- Same Day Delay

May 10th

Bronze Medal Match (10:00 AM-1:00 PM ET)- LIVE

Gold Medal Match (2:30-5:30 PM ET)- LIVE

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join On the Forecheck

You must be a member of On the Forecheck to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at On the Forecheck. You should read them.

Join On the Forecheck

You must be a member of On the Forecheck to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at On the Forecheck. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9355_tracker