clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

It's never too early to hand out awards...

As we head into the final countdown before NHL Opening Night next week, it's time to log those all-important predictions before the first puck drops. Yesterday I posted my calls for divisional winners, so now it's time for the regular season awards:

Presidents' Trophy (Best Overall Record ): In a close one, I'll go with the Carolina Hurricanes here - more due to the weakness of their division than anything else.

Art Ross Trophy (Top Point Scorer): Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers

Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year): Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Top Defensive Forward): Kris Draper, Detroit Red Wings

Hart Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player): Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks

Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year): Jim Playfair, Calgary Flames

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Top Defenseman): Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks

Maurice Richard Trophy (Top Goal Scorer): Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers

Vezina Trophy (Top Goalie): Tomas Vokoun, Nashville Predators

William M. Jennings Trophy (Goalie(s) With the Fewest Goals Scored Against): Dominik Hasek & Chris Osgood, Detroit Red Wings

That's it for now, next up will be the playoff predictions. And a word of advice - be sure to enjoy your spouse and family this weekend, as it's the last NHL-free weekend they'll have until some bearded, toothless warrior raises the Cup in triumph next June.