2016 Honda All-Star Skills Competition Primer

So many skills, so little time.

The full lineup for the 2016 Honda All-Star Skills Competition is out! The captains of the East, Jaromir Jagr and John Tavares and the captains of West, John Scott and Patrick Kane, poured over their talented rosters and assigned roles for the various, name-brand skills contests below. Some interesting choices.

The full East and West selections are available at the All-Star hub of NHL.com. Or, you know, just scroll down...

Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater


Dylan Larkin (Red Wings)

Brandon Saad (Blue Jackets)

Erik Karlsson (Senators)

Kris Letang (Penguins)


Roman Josi (Predators)

Matt Duchene (Avalanche)

Taylor Hall (Oilers)

Dustin Byfuglien (Jets)

Honda NHL Breakaway Challenge


Evgeny Kuznetsov (Capitals)

Brandon Saad (Blue Jackets)

P.K. Subban (Canadiens)

Cory Schneider (Devils)


James Neal (Predators)

Matt Duchene (Avalanche)

Brent Burns (Sharks)

Jonathan Quick (Kings)

DraftKings NHL Accuracy Shooting


John Tavares (Islanders)

Evgeny Kuznetsov (Capitals)

Claude Giroux (Flyers)

Evgeni Malkin (Penguins)

Nicklas Backstrom (Capitals)

Jaromir Jagr (Panthers)


Patrick Kane (Blackhawks)

Joe Pavelski (Sharks)

Corey Perry (Ducks)

Jamie Benn (Stars)

Drew Doughty (Kings)

Vladmir Tarasenko (Blues)

AMP Energy Hardest Shot


Aaron Ekblad (Panthers)

Justin Faulk (Hurricanes)

P.K. Subban (Canadiens)

Steven Stamkos (Lightning)


Dustin Byfuglien (Jets)

Tyler Seguin (Stars)

John Scott (Candiens/Coyotes/All Star Purgatory)

Shea Weber (Predators)

Gatorade NHL Skills Challenge Relay


One-Timers RH: Aaron Ekblad (Panthers), Kris Letang (Penguins), Steven Stamkos (Lightning)

One-Timers LH: Ryan McDonagh (Rangers), Leo Komarov (Maple Leafs), Ryan O'Reilly (Sabres)

One-Timer Passers: Patrice Bergeron (Bruins) & Evgeni Malkin (Penguins)

Mini-Net Passers: Nicklas Backstrom (Capitals) & Patrice Bergeron (Bruins)

Puck Control Relay: Justin Faulk (Hurricanes) & Kris Letang (Penguins)

Stick Handling: Claude Giroux (Flyers) & Dylan Larkin (Red Wings)

Goalie Goals: Braden Holtby (Capitals) & Ben Bishop (Lightning)


One-Timers RH: Shea Weber (Predators), Drew Doughty (Kings), Corey Perry (Ducks)

One-Timers LH: Mark Giordano (Flames), James Neal (Predators), Vladimir Tarasenko (Blues)

One-Timer Passers: Taylor Hall (Oilers) & Matt Duchene (Avalanche)

Mini-Net Passers: Daniel Sedin (Canucks) & Jamie Benn (Stars)

Puck Control Relay: Johnny Gaudreau (Flames) & Roman Josi (Predators)

Stick Handling: Patrick Kane (Blackhawks) & Tyler Seguin (Stars)

Goalie Goals: Pekka Rinne (Predators) & Devan Dubnyk (Wild)

Discover NHL Shootout:


Round 1: Evgeni Malkin, Jaromir Jagr, P.K. Subban, Ryan O'Reilly, Leo Komarov, Aaron Ekblad, Roberto Luongo

Round 2: Patrice Bergeron, Nicklas Backstrom, Steven Stamkos, Evgeny Kuznetsov, Ryan McDonagh, Justin Faulk, Braden Holtby

Round 3: Claude Giroux, Dylan Larkin, John Tavares, Kris Letang, Erik Karlsson, Brandon Saad, Cory Schneider


Round 1: Patrick Kane, Matt Duchene, Brent Burns, Mark Giordano, Vladimir Tarasenko, Daniel Sedin, Devan Dubnyk

Round 2: Joe Pavelski, Taylor Hall, Jamie Benn, James Neal, Johnny Gaudreau, Dustin Byfuglien, John Gibson

Round 3: John Scott, Shea Weber, Tyler Seguin, Corey Perry, Drew Doughty, Roman Josi, Pekka Rinne

Tune In:

It all goes down at 7 PM ET on Saturday night on NBC Network.

I will be eager to see if Weber can retain his "Hardest Shot" crown. Though I am sure John Scott will give him a worthy challenge.

Which event are you most looking forward to?