clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shea Weber Wins The Mark Messier Award

Congratulations to No. 6.

Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

No, it isn't the Norris Trophy, but it's a fantastic award for Shea Weber and the Nashville Predators.

The Messier Award is given to the player "who exemplifies great leadership qualities to the team, on and off the ice, during the regular season." Messier, a Hockey Hall of Famer, selects the finalists and winner of the award himself. Dallas Stars captain Jamie Benn and Washington Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin were also nominated for the award.

Way to go, captain.