Predators have goal waved off because intent to blow is stupid

More like intent to blow the game, amitrite? Is this thing on?

Early in the first period of the Predators' game against the Oilers, referee Ian Walsh waved off a goal that should have counted.

Take a look for yourself.

<iframe src="" frameborder="0" width="640" height="395"></iframe>

That's a full second after the goal goes in.

Per Rule 78.5, the play is deemed dead whenever the referee thinks it is, whether he's blown the whistle or not. In other words, intent to blow is stupid. It's not like the whistle was a quick one. Here's Walsh as Scrivens is gloving the puck into his own net, screened by a host of players.

Intent to blow should go the way of hybrid icing and the puck over the glass rules.

On the bright side, it wasn't even close to the worst goalie call of the night.