Pekka Rinne wins the 2021 King Clancy Memorial Trophy

As the goaltender weighs the options for his future, another NHL award is added to his resume

Nashville Predators goaltender Pekka Rinne added another NHL award to his resume this evening when the league announced him as the 2021 King Clancy Memorial Trophy winner.  Rinne won the award over San Jose Sharks forward Kurtis Gabriel and former Predator and current New Jersey Devil defender P.K. Subban.

Per the NHL website:

Pekka Rinne’s win is the 8th NHL award history for the franchise, and the team’s only repeat winner for Nashville:

  • 2021 - King Clancy Trophy - G Pekka Rinne
  • 2020 - Norris Trophy - D Roman Josi
  • 2019 - Mark Messier Leadership Award - F Wayne Simmonds
  • 2018 - Vezina Trophy - G Pekka Rinne
  • 2017 - Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year - GM David Poile
  • 2016 - Mark Messier Leadership Award - D Shea Weber
  • 2012 - NHL Foundation Player Award - F Mike Fisher
  • 2009 - Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy - F Steve Sullivan/

Rinne’s current contract expires this offseason, but the goaltender has not said yet what his plans for the future will be.

Stay tuned for more coverage of the award and media availability!