World Para Ice Hockey Championships: The Event and the Teams

Get to know the teams competing in Ostrava.

From June 19-26, the world’s best para ice hockey players will gather in Ostrava, Czech Republic for the 2021 World Para Ice Hockey Championships. This “Introduction to the 2021 World Para Ice Hockey Championships” three-part series will prepare fans for all the upcoming action in Ostrava. This final episode explains the significance of the World Championships and introduces fans to the international competition Team U.S.A. will face in Ostrava.

Episode 3: The World Championships

The top international teams will compete June 19-26 at the 2021 World Champinships. While Team U.S.A. won the gold medal at the most recent 2019 Worlds, representatives of seven other countries arrived in Ostrava ready to challenge the reigning champs for the top spot. The teams competing in Ostrava are U.S.A., Canada, Czech Republic, Korea, Italy, Slovakia, Russia Paralympic Committee, and Norway. In the final episode, we’ll cover the importance of the World Championships and provide a brief preview of the national teams.

How to Watch Worlds

Team USA opens play on Saturday, June 19 at 8:00 AM CST agaisnt Team Canada. This game will be an excellent showcase of the talent and skills necessary to compete at the top level of the game.

YouTube: Paralympic Games channel

Facebook: World Para Ice Hockey

(Photo and video credits: USA Hockey & Team USA, International Para Ice Hockey Committee)